POPULAR

26 Extraordinary Figure Painters 2

ESTIMATE 1-MINUTE READ

Contemporary Artist Biographies

Pin

Listed below are the various styles of some favorite artists in alpha­beti­cal order. Any who do not wish to be included will be removed upon request. Desktop computer users, hover cursor over bands beneath art descriptions to view cropped sample image. They should auto­matically collapse. They may either be fully visible or require a tap on some mobile devices. Click respec­tive names to visit full image on Pinterest:

  1. Victor Grasso (American, b. 1977), victorgrasso.com
    Grasso enjoys infusing surrealistic elements within his realistic oil paintings with primarily female subjects.

  2. Christian Hook, christianhook.com
    As an expressionist artist, Hook adroitly uses grunge textures and abstract—sometimes double-exposures—in his figurative paintings.

  3. Jerome Lagarrigue, jeromelagarrigue.com
    Lagarrigue combines expressionism with impressionism to produce grunge figurative portraits.

  4. Joseph Lorusso (American, b. 1966), josephlorussofineart.com
    Also listed among our favorite portrait artists, Lorusso primarily paints orange-lit barroom scenes and frequently red-nosed reposed females in an impressionist manner.

  5. Jeremy Mann, redrabbit7.com
    Mann borders between impressionist and expressionist as he evokes subdued emotion with a hint of realism in his oil paintings.

  6. Alyssa Monks, alyssamonks.com
    Frequently considered a hyperrealist, Monks actually uses discreet brush strokes on large canvases that reveal her underlying figurative impressionist style.

  7. Rachel Moseley, rachelmoseleyart.com
    Moseley is a realist who prefers to focus on a single subject, whether a portrait or standing.

  8. Tim Okamura (Canadian, b. 1968), timokamura.com
    Okamura migrated to New York and since has been chronicling its various peoples with stark portraiture that combines mixed media.

  9. Gabriel Picart (Spanish, b. 1962), gabrielpicart.com
    Generally painting detailed city scenes or females in relaxed poses, Picart is a master realist whose paintings invite the viewer to enter an imaginary world.

To improve page loading, this list continues on the following page.

Continue

Artist contact information is provided on their respective websites to address acquisition inquiries. Let me know in the comment section below if you would like to see additional featured artists. There are many more to explore on Pinterest.

Kevin Williams is a health advocate and writer of hundreds of articles for multiple websites, including: A Bit More Healthy, KevinMD, and Sue’s Nutrition Buzz.

Add Your Comment